Prizes and awards

3rd Poster prize at the ICCG11

© Photo Fraunhofer IST, Florian Kleinschmidt/

The awardee of the 3rd Poster prize at the ICCG11 Felipe C. Carreri of the Fraunhofer IST.

Employees of the Fraunhofer IST were honored with the third place in the poster prizes awarded during the 11th International Conference on Coatings on Glass and Plastics from June 12 – 16, 2016 in Braunschweig. Felipe C. Carreri, Holger Gerdes, Ralf Bandorf, Michael Vergöhl and Günter Bräuer from the Fraunhofer IST were awarded for the contribution “Deposition of ITO films by reactive high power impulse magnetron sputtering from a metallic rotatable target”.

Competition INNOspace Masters 2016

© Photo

Fraunhofer IST scientists are able to apply a metall coating on carbon-fiber reinforced plastic antennas for the ESA »Sentinel-Mission«.

At the INNOspace Masters conference on May 4, 2016 in Berlin, Dr. Andreas Dietz, manager of the business unit aerospace at the Fraunhofer IST, was honored by the German Center for Aerospace (DLR) in the framework of the competition INNOspace Masters 2016. Together with his project partners Prof. Enrico Stoll from the Institute of Space Systems of the TU Braunschweig and Stefan Linke from INVENT GmbH he took the second place in the category “DLR Space Management Challenge” with the “OCULUS” project.

Supplemental award to EFB Project Award 2016

© Photo EFB

The awardees of the EFB-Projektpreis 2016

Dipl.-Ing. Martin Weber, long-standing employee of Fraunhofer IST, received the supplemental award to the EFB Project Award 2016 for his successful work on the project “Fast Tool Wear Test for Deep and Stretch Drawing of Sheet Steel”. It was presented on April 12th during the congress of the European Research Association for Sheet Metal Working (EFB).

Chamber of Industry and Commerce Technology Transfer Award 2015

© Photo Fraunhofer IST, Eileen Kaster

The awardees: Dr. Dirk Wandke, Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Viöl und Dr. Andreas Helmke (from left to right).

Healing with plasma – this goal was achieved by a team of physicists, engineers, doctors and biologists with the development of a medical technology called PlasmaDerm® for the treatment of wounds and skin diseases. Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Viöl, Vice President of HAWK and Head of the Application Centre for Plasma and Photonics at the Fraunhofer Institute for Surface Engineering and Thin Films IST, Dr. Andreas Helmke of the IST Application Centre and Dr. Dirk Wandke, managing director of the CINOGY GmbH, were presented with the Technology Transfer Award by the Braunschweig Chamber of Industry and Commerce for the transfer of this innovative technology – the journey from the idea to the medical device.

Hermann-Blenk Research Award 2015

© Photo © Fraunhofer IST, Prof. Wolfgang Diehl

The jury and the awardees of the Hermann-Blenk-Preis and the Karl-Doetsch-Nachwuchspreis.

Dr. Tatiana Hentrich, manager of the business unit Mechanical Engineering, Tools and Automotive Technology, was presented with the Hermann-Blenk Research Award on November 16, 2015 in the course of the 6th Research Day of the Aeronautics Research Centre Niedersachsen (NFL). The research award endowed with € 5,000 is presented annually by NFL Braunschweig for trendsetting research results and outstanding studies and theses in the field of aviation and aerospace as well as the corresponding key technologies.